Home . Find A Church . Contact Us   

A Look at Our Diocese

The Episcopal Diocese of Springfield was formed in 1877 after being a part of the Diocese of Illinois since 1835. The Diocese is geographically the largest of the three dioceses in Illinois, comprised of sixty (60) counties. It is called the Diocese of the Four Rivers in which the Mississippi, Illinois, Ohio and Wabash rivers all pass through the diocese.

The Ecclesiastical authority of the diocese is the Right Reverend Peter Hess Beckwith, the tenth bishop of the Diocese. There are 40 congregations with over 50 clerics. The Diocese's central affairs are administered from the city of Springfield, the capital of Illinois.

Diocesan Center Office Hours:
Monday - Friday 9:00 a.m. - 4:00 p.m.
Address listed at bottom left of page.

Diocesan Synod

Diocesan Audit Guide

Constitution & Canons

Diocesan Shield

Toddhall Retreat



The Episcopal Diocese of Springfield
821 South Second Street
Springfield, Illinois 62704
Tel:(217) 525-1876  Fax:(217) 525-1877
Email: diocese@episcopalspringfield.org
Click here for Directions